Public Leadership

The Knowledge Park is a collaborative effort led by the community’s private and public sector leadership. The following businesses, educational institutions, governments, and individuals have come together to build the Knowledge Park through the attraction and growth of jobs and businesses.

City of Rock Hill

Rock Hill, South Carolina is a business-savvy blend of historic charm and responsibly implemented expansion. The city is located in the north-central area of South Carolina approximately 20 miles south of Charlotte, NC along the I-77 corridor. Rock Hill is a growing community of 67,000 residents, and the City encompasses over 36 square miles. Rock Hill is the largest city in York County, SC and the only major South Carolina city in the Charlotte area.

Rock Hill earned its name in 1852, when the Charlotte/Columbia/Augusta Railroad line was being constructed through the area. Rail crews encountered a small, flinty hill and dubbed the spot “Rock Hill.” A U.S. Post Office was established during that year, marking the official beginning of the city.  The railroad brought business into the area which thrives as a result. The village was incorporated in 1892.

York County

York County is recognized as one of the fastest growing counties in the State of South Carolina.  York County is comprised of nine municipalities to include, the towns of Clover, Fort Mill, Hickory Grove, McConnells, Sharon, and Smyrna; and the cities of Rock Hill, Tega Cay, and York.  Each municipality offers its uniqueness from rural to urban surroundings, and share in a rich cultural heritage.  Recognized for its high quality of life, York County also offers a highly skilled workforce and sustainable economy that provides balanced growth and compliments a healthy environment.

Rock Hill School District

The mission of the Rock Hill Schools will provide all students with challenging work that authentically engages them in the learning process and prepares them for successful futures.  The citizens of Rock Hill expect excellence in their schools and are supportive with their time, talents, and financial resources.  Rock Hill Schools is the largest of four school districts in York County and the eleventh largest in South Carolina.  The school district has 27 school buildings including 1 preschool, 17 elementaries, 5 middle, 3 high, and one career/technology center.  The student population is approximately 17,400.

Winthrop University

Nationally recognized for its quality and value, Winthrop University is a learning community that embodies the characteristics essential to being one of the best universities of its kind: a carefully selected student body of high academic achievement and cultural diversity; a national caliber curriculum of the arts, sciences, and professions; a residential educational experience emphasizing personal identity and close relationships; and values that emphasize deep learning, quality teaching, and engaged public service.  Winthrop students have the opportunity to develop their individual capacities to become leaders in their professions and communities through a variety of highly personalized, engaging, and progressively developmental academic and co-curricular programs predicated on national standards of excellence. The Winthrop Experience is one that prepares students to live, learn, and lead for a lifetime.

York Technical College

York Technical College, a member of the South Carolina Technical and Comprehensive Education System, is a public, two-year institution of higher education that offers a variety of associate degrees, diplomas, and certificates. The College seeks to contribute to the economic growth and development of York, Lancaster, and Chester counties and of the State by maximizing student success. York Technical College has an open admissions policy for qualified students and annually enrolls 8,000-10,000 credit students. Through excellence in teaching and learning, the College provides program offerings, in a variety of delivery methods, in the areas of engineering technology, industrial technology, information technology, business, health sciences, and public service and transfer to senior colleges and universities. In addition, the College offers a comprehensive selection of corporate and continuing education courses designed to promote occupational advancement, personal interest, and business and industry growth.